Holy Week began on April 2 with Palm Sunday, which is the day when Jesus’ entry into Jerusalem is commemorated.

The next important date is Maundy Thursday, the day that remembers the last time Jesus met his 12 apostles to share with them the last meal, bread and wine, before his crucifixion. This act is considered the introduction to the Eucharist, in which Christ leaves his body and blood represented in bread and wine.

History of the Last Supper

In the Bible, the celebration of the Last Supper is found in Luke 22:14-20: “When the time came he sat down to table, and the apostles with him. And he said unto them, How much have I desired to eat with you this Passover before I suffer! For I say unto you, I will eat of it no more, until it be fulfilled in the kingdom of God. And having taken the cup, he gave thanks, and said, Take this, and divide it among yourselves; for I say unto you, I will drink no more of the fruit of the vine, until the kingdom of God is come. And he took bread and gave thanks, broke it, and gave it to them, saying, This is my body, which is given for you; Do this in memory of me. Likewise, after having supped, he took the cup, saying: This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is shed for you. »

With these words he began what today we call the Eucharist.

On this day, we also remember the washing of the feet of Jesus to his disciples, which represents a teaching of gratitude, service and humility. Likewise, it is the moment when the Lord appoints someone who will betray him, one of his apostles, who represents the betrayal of Judas.

Other Holy Week dates

  • April 7 (Good Friday): According to Britannica, Good Friday has been observed since the earliest days of Christianity as a day of sorrow, penance and fasting, a characteristic expressed in the German word “Karfreitag” (“Friday of Sorrows”). In English, the origin of the term “Good” (Good Friday) is debated: some believe that it comes from an older name, “God’s Friday”. In the Roman Catholic Church, Mass is not celebrated on Good Friday, although a liturgy is celebrated. The liturgy of Good Friday consists of the reading of the Gospel account of the Passion, the adoration of the cross and Communion.
  • April 8(Holy Saturday): Easter eve.
  • April 9(Easter Sunday): This date, also known as Resurrection Sunday, recalls the passion, death and resurrection of Jesus.

Categorized in: