WhatsApp is working to integrate a new feature that will allow users to hide that they are online from other contacts when they are using the application.
Currently, in the privacy options of the social network, you can choose who can see the time of the last connection, the profile picture, the information or the statuses, which have a duration of 24 hours.
However, until now it is not possible to hide the status, so that all users can see if one of their contacts is inside the application and therefore online.
As WABetaInfo has recently warned, the company is working to incorporate a feature that it has been developing for months to maintain privacy.
According to a screenshot of WhatsApp beta for iOS that this portal has shared, in a future update it will be possible to limit who can see the connection status within the Last Seen Configuration section.
Two options have been introduced in this: ‘ All ‘, so that the total number of contacts can know if a user is online or not, and ‘Same as last seen’.
“For example, if you choose ‘My contacts’ for ‘Last seen’ and ‘Same as last seen’ for ‘Online’, it means that people who are not in the contact book will not be able to tell when you are online. line”, WABetaInfo pointed out.
From this portal they have indicated that, although this functionality has been seen in the version of the application for iOS , WhatsApp plans to introduce the same function in a future beta for Android and Desktop.
Rachel Maga is a technology journalist currently working at Globe Live Media agency. She has been in the Technology Journalism field for over 5 years now. Her life’s biggest milestone is the inside tour of Tesla Industries, which was gifted to her by the legend Elon Musk himself.