One of the most exciting things about any new Diablo game is the classes you can play. In Diablo IV, you play as five different classes: Barbarian, Druid, Necromancer, Rogue, and Sorcerer. Whether you like slingshot spells or poison arrows, all of these characters combine classic player classes with exciting new mechanics. For example, each class has one or more special systems that augment and customize the way you play them. So with all of these abilities old and new, let’s break down each class in Diablo IV and how they work.


Image via Blizzard Entertainment

A Diablo IV Barbarian is your classic melee warrior. All Barbarian builds are all about high damage, powerful weapons, and buffs. Like their counterparts in Diablo II and III, Barbarians in Diablo IV can grant themselves CC Immunity and use group or individual shouts to increase damage, stamina, speed, and more. There are two Barbarian subclass paths in their Diablo IV skill trees that players can take or mix and match:

  • military leader– which focuses on defense, party bonuses and bleed damage
  • frantic– a subclass dealing with reckless offenses, maximum damage and personal buffs

Related: Best Skills & Barbarian Skills To Get First In Diablo IV

Meanwhile, Diablo IV’s new mechanic for Barbarians is the Arsenal system. The Arsenal system allows Barbarians to switch between different weapons. In a Barbarian Arsenal, you can equip two two-handed weapons and two one-handed weapons. You can toggle these weapons on and off during combat, even in the middle of a boss fight.


Image via Blizzard Entertainment

Diablo IV’s unique mix of spells and tanks is the Druid. This character excels in shapeshifting as well as earth and storm magic. You can focus on one of them as your primary combat method or use all three in your build.

  • shape shift– The druid has three different forms: human, werewolf and werebear. Unlike Diablo II’s Druid, your shapeshift is now a shorter-term spell.
  • earth magic– Earth Magic’s main feature is Crushing Blows, which applies the Vulnerable debuff to any enemy hit. Vulnerability causes an enemy to take 30% more damage from attacks
  • magic storm– This mark of magic applies large AOE storm effects to the space around you and deals heavy continuous damage

Related: Diablo 4 Beta Details: Dates, Rewards & Specs

While Barbarian, Rogue, and Sorcerer all have well-defined special mechanics in Diablo IV, Druids are a little less safe right now because they’re not available in beta. However, it has been said that Druids can improve themselves by casting out animal spirits and benefiting from their blessings.


Diablo 4 NecromancerImage via Blizzard Entertainment

In all of Diablo IV, Necromancer is probably the most complex character skill tree. Most characters have two or three directional subclasses, but Necromancer has four. Each completely changes the type of necromancer you will be. The four different skill classes for necromancers are:

  • Bone– All about spell capturing, stopping and directing enemies with prisons, walls, etc.
  • Darkness– A reinterpretation of the poison/curse gameplay from Diablo III. Darkness deals damage over time (like a lingering poison) or large burst attacks
  • Sangre- Drain enemy life during combat and blast dead bodies.
  • Army- You raise an army of the dead, from skeleton warriors to wizards and golems. Easy to mix with other playing styles.

Like the Druid, the Necromancer wasn’t included in the Diablo IV beta, so his special bonus mechanic isn’t fully official. However, his Book of The Dead system is likely that special mechanic. The Necromancer’s Book of the Dead allows players to customize their skeleton army. These skeleton options include:

  • skeleton warriors
    • skirmishers: increased damage but reduced health
    • defenders: a shield and an extra life
    • reapers: false, slower attacks, more damage and AOE
  • skeletal magicians
    • Dark: Inflicts Shadow damage
    • Cold: inflicts cold damage
    • Bone: Inflicts bone damage
  • Golems
    • sea ​​golems: tank units
    • blood golem: lifesteal units
    • Iron Golem: awesome cargo units


Diablo 4 ThiefImage via Blizzard Entertainment

With so many character classes in previous Diablo games, Diablo IV uses Rogue to combine the best features of several popular classes, including Amazon, Assassin, Demon Hunter, and classic Rogue. Thief skills are divided into three subclasses:

  • melee- These abilities are a collection of slashes, backstabs, and kill attacks.
  • from a distance- Ranged skills are for piercing shots, volleys, rain of arrows, and other archer staples.
  • Combat upgrades/tools– Cover the battlefield with traps, create a kill box with turrets and grenades, or use shadows to vanish completely

Related: Best Rogue Skills & Abilities To Get First In Diablo IV

The Rogue’s special mechanic has two aspects. They’re a little less unique, but they also offer a wide range of versatility. For starters, Rogues have their own type of mini-Arsenal, just like Barbarians. They can switch between ranged and melee weapons at will. Meanwhile, they also have their Imbue system. This system allows you to imbue your attacks with Poison, Shadow, or Cold damage, making your barrage of arrows poisonous or freezing your enemies with every hit. It really encourages Rogues to develop multiple skills and create unique and intricate builds.


Diablo 4 Sorcerer 1Image via Blizzard Entertainment

Diablo IV’s Sorcerer/Sorceress is a classic high-risk, high-reward glass cannon. Like the Sorceress in Diablo II, the Sorceress is all about using the elements to deal damage and defend herself. Subsequently, the magician’s skill tree is divided into three elements, each with its own special effects:

  • Fuego- These spells can place the burn effect on enemies, dealing damage over time.
  • Cold- Cold attacks create stacks of cold on the enemy. When they reach 100 stacks, the enemy will be frozen for a while.
  • Lightning- Electric spells leave behind a ball of crackling energy that can be collected and restored mana.

Related: The Best Wizard And Witch Skills And Abilities To Get First In Diablo IV

The wizard’s special class mechanic is the enchantment system. Six wizard skills will be placed in the typical active slots. Meanwhile, three more skills can be placed in the enchantment slots. This means that a Wizard can incorporate up to nine different abilities into their build. However, if an ability becomes an enchantment ability, you cannot use it like your other abilities. Instead, his active ability will turn into a passive effect that will aid you when you’re in battle. However, already passive abilities cannot be converted into enchantment abilities.


Categorized in:

Tagged in:

, , , ,