Which tequila is gluten free

Which tequila is gluten free

Tequila is an alcoholic beverage that can be enjoyed by people who have gluten-free options. We review which is the best tequila for celiacs

People with celiac disease, sometimes called celiac disease, have an immune reaction that is triggered by eating gluten, so they must watch what they eat and drink, including alcoholic beverages.

Gluten is a protein found in many grains, including wheat, barley, and rye. Common gluten in foods such as bread, pasta, pizza, and cereals. People with celiac disease must follow a gluten-free diet for life.

Beer is one of the alcoholic beverages that often contains gluten, although gluten-free beers are becoming more widely available on the market. Tequila may be an option for people looking for gluten-free beverages.

Tequila is a distillate obtained from the heads of Agave tequilana weber. Glute Guard recommends that to ensure your tequila is gluten-free, it’s best to opt for “100% Agave Tequila.”

Tequila is divided into two categories: Tequila 100% agave and Tequila.

Tequila “100% agave” or “100% pure agave” must be made only with sugars from the “agave tequilana weber blue variety”.

“Tequila” is made with at least 51% of blue variety tequilana weber agave sugars. Susceptible to be enriched and mixed with other sugars in a proportion not greater than 49%. These sugars can come from sources such as sugar cane, corn syrup, and fruit.

Beverage experts point out that even when tequila is labeled 100% agave, it may contain additives, gluten is not included. Taste Tequila lists sugar-based syrup, glycerin, oak extract, and caramel color as additives that are allowed to be used in 100% agave tequila.

“The additives are designed to smooth out the rough edges of a tequila, to add a flavor that is not present in the tequila when it is distilled,” David Alan, director of business education and mixology for PATRÓN, explained to Vine Pair.

Among the tequilas that Glute Guard recommends consuming are Tequila 1519, Tequila 1800, Cabo Wabo, Cazadores, Tequila Don Julio, El Jimador, Tequila Herradura, Hornitos, Jose Cuervo, Tequila Patron, Tequila Suaza.

In addition to being one of the drinks that gluten-avoiders can enjoy, it can also be an option for those looking for a low-calorie alcoholic beverage.

Spirits like tequila are alcoholic beverages with the fewest calories. There are 97 calories in a drink (1.5 oz-45 ml) of gin, rum, vodka, whiskey and tequila.