Car insurance in Florida: what are the penalties for driving without a valid policy

Car insurance in Florida: what are the penalties for driving without a valid policy

The Florida FLHSMV warns drivers about the importance of having a valid auto insurance policy in order to use their driver’s license in the state

In the state of Florida, in addition to a driver’s license and registration, drivers must have a valid auto insurance policy that meets certain characteristics in order to make use of their privileges. According to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), those drivers who ignore this requirement can receive various penalties that can be much more severe if they are involved in traffic accidents with balances.

In the United States, auto insurance policies are used to guarantee coverage for other drivers in the event of traffic accidents. This type of requirement, also known as “vehicular civil liability”, allows people to cover the damages they have caused to third parties, if the authorities determine that they have been guilty of an unfortunate act. It also applies in case they are considered a victim of circumstances. If so, the driver would benefit from the responsible party’s policy.

What are the penalties I can receive for driving without insurance in Florida?

According to the FLHSMV, any driver in the state of Florida who does not have adequate insurance will face suspension of their license or registration and the imposition of a fine that can range from $150 to $500. This state agency also specifies the criteria that policies must meet in the state:

1. Insurance policies must cover Florida-registered motor vehicles with at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP).

2. At the same time, such policies must have $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) coverage.

3. The policy must have continuous coverage even if the vehicle is not driven or inoperable. If you are going to cancel the insurance, it is necessary that you deliver the plate/label beforehand.

4. The driver must have purchased the policy from an insurance company licensed to do business in Florida. (If he’s new to the state, he can ask his agent to transfer his current insurance to a Florida policy.)

5. The owner must maintain Florida insurance coverage continuously throughout the registration period, regardless of the location of the vehicle. Military members stationed out of state/country may be exempt.

These criteria apply not only to people residing in the state, but also to non-residents and those moving to the state from elsewhere in the United States. In these cases, it is necessary for the driver to carry out the process of updating their policy in conjunction with the request for a new registration and a valid Florida driver’s license.