Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named the NFL’s Most Valuable Player in the NFL Honors for the second year in a row.

The ceremony awards the best of 2021 in different categories and takes place prior to the match for the Lombardi trophy.

Super Bowl LVI will take place this Sunday between the Los Angeles Rams and the Cincinnati Bengals at SoFi Stadium, located in Inglewood, California.

It is the fourth time that Rodgers has obtained an MVP (Most Valuable Player), award for the most valuable player; he previously did so in 2011, 2014 and 2020.

The Green Bay quarterback left behind Tom Brady, Johnny Unitas, Brett Favre, Jim Brown, who have three, and was one behind Peyton Manning, who is the top winner with five MVPs.

Rodgers thanked his team’s coach, Matt LaFleur, for helping him earn this recognition.

“It has been an incredible 17 years, I am grateful for the memories throughout these years. I would like to especially thank Matt LaFleur for trusting me and my teammates,” he said.

Rodgers finished the season with 4,115 yards and 37 touchdowns and led Green Bay to the playoffs.

The Offensive Player of the Year trophy went to triple-crown Los Angeles Rams wide receiver Cooper Kupp, leading in receptions with 145, yards, 1,947, and touchdowns, 16.

The Defensive Player pick went to Steelers linebacker Trent Jordan Watt, who led the sacks with 22.5, tying the Giants’ Michael Strahan’s NFL record.

Ja’Marr Chase, a 21-year-old receiver for the Cincinnati Bengals, was presented with the Offensive Rookie award. He was the fourth best receiver of the season with 1,455 yards and 13 touchdowns.

The Defensive Rookie award went to Dallas Cowboys wing Micah Parsons, 22. He finished sixth in the league in sacks with 13, three interceptions and three forced fumbles.

The Titans’ Mike Vrabel won the Coach of the Year trophy.

Vrabel managed for his team to finish the regular season as the best in the NFL with a 12-5 record despite losing his best player to injury for most of the season; running back Derrick Henry, and his two star receivers; AJ Brown and Julio Jones.

The Comeback Player of the Season award went to Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow, who tore his ACL and MCL in his left knee in November 2020 against Washington in Week 10 .

Burrow returned this season to lead the Bengals to the AFC North title, the AL championship and will now play in Super Bowl LVI against the Los Angeles Rams.

The NFL Honors ceremony also announced the eight new members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, which honors the best in NFL history and the Walter Payton Award, a recognition of community work.

The Hall of Fame roster included lineman Tony Boselli, catcher Cliff Branch, safety Le Roy Butler; Sam Mills, linebacker; Richard Seymour, defensive end; Bryant Young, lineman; Coach Dick Vermeil and Officer Art McNally.

The Walter Payton Award was given to Rams lineman Andrew Whitworth.

Categorized in: