Connecticut licensed retailers can sell cannabis products to any adult 21 years of age or older
At 10 a.m. Tuesday, adult recreational cannabis sales began in Connecticut.
Retail sales have opened at nine of the state’s 18 dispensaries, according to CTInsider. Licensed retailers may sell cannabis products to any adult 21 years of age or older.
“Today marks a turning point in the injustices caused by the war on drugs, especially now that there is a legal alternative to the underground, dangerous and unregulated market for the sale of cannabis,” Governor Ned Lamont said in a statement. Press release.
“Together with our partners in the legislature and our team of professionals at the Department of Consumer Protection, we have carefully crafted a safely regulated marketplace that prioritizes public health, public safety, social justice and equity,” Lamont added. .
“I look forward to continuing our efforts to ensure that this industry remains inclusive and safe as it develops,” he concluded.
Today marks a turning point in the injustices caused by the war on drugs, most notably now that there is a legal alternative to the dangerous, unregulated, underground market for cannabis sales.
— Governor Ned Lamont (@GovNedLamont) January 10, 2023
More retail stores are expected to start selling recreational cannabis later this year.
In preparation for the start of retail sales, some 50,000 consumers with medical marijuana prescriptions were advised to fill their prescriptions by Tuesday.
Cannabis reforms in Connecticut have expanded beyond just growing the industry. Lawmakers have also struggled to address equity in its criminal justice system, which has historically punished minorities disproportionately for drug offenses.
Retail sales are subject to three taxes: the state sales tax of 6.35%, a sales tax of 3% for the city or town where the sale is made, and a tax of 10% to 15% depending on the level of THC (a cannabinoid that can affect the brain and change your mood) in the product sold.
In 2021, Lamont signed the Adult Use Cannabis Act, which will direct the revenue raised by the industry toward communities that have been hardest hit by the war on drugs and create opportunities for minorities to become involved in the industry.
New York cannabis law takes a similar approach. Retail sales of cannabis in New York began on December 29. Massachusetts, New Jersey, and Rhode Island also sell for recreational use, as well as in several other states across the country.
To purchase recreational cannabis in Connecticut, customers must show a government ID to prove they are 21 years old and pay with cash or debit card.
Medical marijuana patients will be given alternate lines and kiosks at stores where they can pay.
Melissa Galbraith is the World News reporter for Globe Live Media. She covers all the major events happening around the World. From Europe to Americas, from Asia to Antarctica, Melissa covers it all. Never miss another Major World Event by bookmarking her author page right here.