Israel added U.S and other countries to the list of destinations considered risky on tuesday, imposing a travel ban by the omicron variant of coronavirus.

A parliamentary committee approved the recommendation of the Ministry of Health to incorporate United States along with Belgium, Canada, Germany, Hungary, Morocco, Portugal, Switzerland and Turkey to the red list of countries. Ronit Gal, a spokesman for the commission, said in a statement.

The restrictions, which already applied to France, the UK and most African countries, they will go into effect on Wednesday and will remain in effect until December 29, according to committee spokeswoman Ronit Gal.

These measures concern, especially in the case of the United States, hundreds of thousands of Israelis who have dual citizenship.

Foreigners not residing in Israel cannot enter the country, with few exceptions. Israeli citizens and residents in a country now on the red list will have to be confined for a week upon their return.

Categorized in: