Athletic-Barcelona, ​​the Classic of the finals

Athletic-Barcelona, ​​the Classic of the finals


El Clásico in Spain at Madrid-Barcelona. But the long and brilliant history of Athletic also draws a match that has been repeated a lot, especially in recent times, between the Catalans and the lions in the finals. in fact, both have met in all editions of the League, since they have never lost the category, like Madrid. This Sunday both write a new chapter in Seville in the final of the Super Cup. They will meet for the thirteenth time in their history in the decisive game for a title, three of them in the Super Cup.

In the 1983 and 2009 editions, the trophy went to the Barça team and in 2015 Athletic won the victory, conquering the last title that appears in the showcases of the Bilbao club museum. The remaining nine finals between Basques and Catalans correspond to the Cup competition, with triumphs for Athletic in 1902, 1932 and 1984 and for Barcelona in 1920, 1942, 1953, 2009, 2012 and 2015.

For the rojiblanco team, Seville will be the eighth final for which they have qualified in the last eleven years, also achieving it with five different technicians, the last of them the newcomer Marcelino García Toral thanks to Thursday’s victory in the semifinals against Real Madrid. Before the Asturian, Caparrós (Cup and Super Cup 2009), Bielsa (Cup and Europa League 2012), Valverde (Cup and Super Cup 2015) and Garitano got it, the latter for the 2020 Cup still pending between Athletic and La Real society.

Seven players from the current Athletic squad aspire to achieve their second Super Cup on Sunday after the one they won in August 2015, also against the Barça team. De Marcos, Balenziaga, Lekue, Ibai, Muniain, Williams and Herrerin were part of that team that achieved the last official title won by Athletic in a two-legged final that those then led by Valverde put on track in San Mamés with a spectacular 4- 0.

De Marcos and Balenziaga, both starters in the semifinal against Real Madrid and who will probably repeat from the start at La Cartuja, played the full game both in the first leg and in the second leg, which ended with a 1-1 draw at the Camp Nou. In addition, Lekue played the last minutes in ‘La Catedral, Herrerín was the substitute goalkeeper in the two games and Ibai was not among the 18 called by Txingurri for both appointments.

A serious knee injury that occurred in April then prevented Iker Muniain from participating in that final. Who, as the current captain, in case of victory would take over from Carlos Gurpegui to lift the trophy. Nor could Williams play, who had been injured in a preseason friendly in Boise (United States).

In that course, Raúl García, author of the two goals in the semifinal that defeated Real Madrid, was also part of the red and white squad, although the Navarrese arrived at Athletic from Atlético de Madrid two weeks after sealing that title on August 17.
of 2015.

Finals Athletic-Barcelona

1902 Athletic Barcelona Cup 2-1
1920 Barcelona Athletic Cup 2-0
1932 Athletic Barcelona Cup 1-0
1942 Barcelona Athletic Cup 4-3
1953 Barcelona Athletic Cup 2-1
1983 Barcelona Athletic 1-3 Super Cup (San Mamés); 0-1
(Camp Nou)
1984 Athletic Barcelona Cup 1-0
2009 Barcelona Athletic Cup 4-1
2009 Supercopa Barcelona Athletic 1-2 (San Mamés); 3-0
(Camp Nou)
2012 Barcelona Athletic Cup 3-0
2015 Barcelona Athletic Cup 3-1
2015 Super Cup Athletic Barcelona 4-0 (San Mamés), 1-1
(Camp Nou).

More from Author Melissa Galbraith here:

Melissa Galbraith
Melissa Galbraith is the World News reporter for Globe Live Media. She covers all the major events happening around the World. From Europe to Americas, from Asia to Antarctica, Melissa covers it all. Never miss another Major World Event by bookmarking her author page right here.