Argentina is no longer in the 2022 Volleyball World Cup that takes place in Poland and Slovenia because it lost to Brazil 3-1 (25-16, 23-25, 25-22 and 25-21) in the quarterfinals, instance to the that had not arrived for two decades because the last time had been in 2022, in a contest in which he was host. But the championship continues and this Saturday the semifinals will be played in Katowice with the participation of the local countries plus two other powers in two games that promise parity: Poland-Brazil and Slovenia-Italy.

  • For the duel between Poles and Brazilians, the European team is the betting favorite. His victory pays a cap of 1.50 for each peso, dollar or euro invested against 2.89 for his defeat, that is, a South American victory.
  • The Italian cast is a candidate to prevail in the other match with a maximum payment of 1.44 against 2.70, which multiplies earnings for a Slovenian joy.

From 1990 onwards, the eight titles at stake were divided between Italy (1990, 1994 and 1998), Brazil (2002, 2006 and 2010) and Poland (2014 and 2018).

Days, times and how to watch the semifinals online

  • Poland vs. Brazil (Saturday at 13).
  • Slovenia vs. Italy (Saturday at 4 p.m.).

The matches will be broadcast live by ESPN, so it can also be seen through the Star+ online platform. The cable channel can be tuned in Flow and DirecTV Go, although it is required to be a client.

  • Star+ (requires being a subscriber).
  • Flow (requires being a client).
  • Directv Go (requires to be a client).

The winners of each of the crosses will meet on Sunday in the final, scheduled for 4:00 p.m. (Argentine time). The losers, meanwhile, will play at 13 for third place.

This was the quarterfinals

  • Slovenia 3 – 1 Ukraine: Partial 18-25, 26-24, 25-19 and 25-23.
  • Italy 3 – 2 France: Partials of 24-26, 25-21, 23-25, 25-22 and 15-12
  • Brazil 3 – 1 Argentina: Partials of 25-16, 23-25, 25-22 and 25-21
  • Poland 3 – 2 United States: Partials of 25-20, 27-25, 21-25, 22-25 and 15-12.

The table of world champions

The Volleyball World Cup has been held since 1949 and the country that has the most titles is the former Soviet Union with six. Behind are Brazil (2002, 2006, 2010), Italy (1990, 1994, 1998) and Poland (1974, 2014 and 2018) with three stars each. The list is completed by Czechoslovakia with two coronations and Germany and the United States with one each. In total, only eight selected had the luxury of being crowned in 19 tournaments.

  • Soviet Union – 6 titles
  • Brazil / Italy / Poland – 3
  • Czechoslovakia – 2
  • Germany – 1
  • United States – 1

Categorized in: