There is less and less time left for the 2022 Qatar World Cup, and there are already 27 teams that have secured their place in football’s top event.

In addition to the host country, there are already 27 qualifiers for the championship, including favorites Brazil, Argentina, Germany and defending champion France.

This Tuesday, Portugal and Poland secured their place in Qatar after their meetings with North Macedonia and Sweden. In addition, the qualifiers in Africa were defined, where giants such as Cameroon and Morocco managed to qualify while Nigeria, who since 1994 had only been absent from Germany 2006, was left out.

This Wednesday the last day of the Concacaf qualifiers will be played, where Canada already has its place assured while the USA and Mexico depend on themselves and will reach them with just a draw in their respective games.

The three places that will remain after this Wednesday will be defined in the playoffs that will be played in the coming months. Among those who will seek their place in the World Cup in that instance will be Peru, who on Tuesday beat Paraguay, achieved the coveted fifth place and left Colombia without a chance.

This is how the quotas are distributed:

Europe – UEFA: 13 places
Africa – CAF: 5 slots
South America – Conmebol: 4.5 seats
Asia – AFC: 4.5 seats
North America, Central America and the Caribbean – Concacaf: 3.5 seats
Oceania – OFC: 0.5 slots

Categorized in: